VA SoulShaker vol.5

Published on Lunedì, 27 Ottobre 2008

The explosive sound of the new deep funk scene feat rmxs & unreleased by Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings, Breakestra, New Mastersounds, Baby Charles, Nostalgia77, Eli “paperboy” Reed, Kokolo...

Thanks to planetary success of artists such as Amy Winehouse, Mark Ronson, Sharon Jones and Nicole Willis, everybody's raving about the new funk & soul revival. The new SoulShaker volume is a good reminder of why the new deep funk sound is so popular these days. Almost all tracks here see the light on a CD format for the first time. We included massive remixes like Kenny Dope's amazing rework of Keep on lookin by legendary Sharon Jones and The Dap-Kings, Japanese Mr.Comicstore's rework of Devastated from Andy Lewis's debut solo album feat Loleatta Holloway on vocal, Tru Thoughts hero Nostalgia 77 deep funk edit of “I don't wanna change” by Birmingham combo UNITY with Lizzy Parks on vocals. From the New Mastresounds Re::Mixed album we picked up the killer single “Idle Time” by Lack Of Afro, Freddie Cruger aka Red Asteire gives Lee McDonald's classic “I'll Do Anything For You” a groovy Philly touch. You'll also find new US funk sensation Eli “paperboy“ Reed with smashing single “The Satisfier”, Kokolo with an afrobeat revisitation of Duran Duran 80s hit “Girls on film”, a new track from Stones Throw's Breakestra long awaited new album as well as a non album cut from Baby Charles, ex Style Council Steve White's new project Trio Valore, Japanese funk legends Osaka Monaurail and many surprises like the new northern soul scene sensation Kings go Forth, Bordeaux Shaolin Temple Defenders produced by Eddie Roberts and the NYC Dansette's spin off Sweet Divines... this is the real deal.. see you on the dancefloor


1)Kings go Forth - One day *
2)Shaolin Temple Defenders - 7 Deadly Corners *
3)Eli "paperbouy" Reed - Satisfier
4)Trio Valore - Return of the iron monkey
5)Kokolo - Girls on film *
6)Unity - I don't wanna change (Nostalgia 77 rmx) *
7)Sharon Jones - Keep on looking (Kenny Dope rmx) *
8)Zamali - No luck to run *
9)Andy Lewis – Devastated (Mr.Comicstore rmx) *
10)Baby Charles - Time wasting *
11)Osaka Monaurail - Double Up Now
12)Diplomats of Solid Sound - Trouble me
13)Sweet Divines - Heckuva Man *
14)Breakestra - Little Miss Funky Sole *
15)New Matersounds - Idle Time (Lack of Afro rmx)
16)Lee McDonald - Ill Do..(Red Astaire Philly mix) *


Share |

Record Kicks™ ● Sempione 38 - 20154 Milano ● p. iva/vat n. 01166050110 ● tel. (+39) 02.36561042 ● fax (+39) 02.36561042 ●

Engineered by Innoteam ● Powered by eZ Publish